Watch of the Year 2017 with and the Special Jury Prize for #SpeedyTuesday

Watch of the Year 2017 with and the Special Jury Prize for #SpeedyTuesday

For quite a long while I’ve been an individual from the jury of the Watch Of The Year in Poland, coordinated by our companions of . A week ago was the function grant service, according to common held in the beautiful Sobanski’s Palace in Warsaw. A year ago we commended the many prize victor, and particularly the Grönefeld siblings who won no under two prizes! This year the Special Jury Award went to an individual Dutchman and that is #SpeedyTuesday originator Robert-Jan Broer. 

This year was at that point the eight version of the Polish Watch Of The Year, always with a straightforward arrangement of rules and a worldwide jury. While this probably won’t be the Grand Prix de Horlogerie de Geneva (GPHG), one ought not think little of the significance of this honor, as it is surely a decent sign of the main watches of the year. This year no under 60 watches had been pre-chosen, in six unique classes, and more than 12,000 projected their decisions in favor of the Public Prize category!

During the fantastic night, agents of the triumphant brands got a handcrafted statuette: Fabien Burnier (Hermes – Classic Watch category), Nathalie Le Reun (Jaeger-LeCoultre –   Sports Watch category), Marco Borraccino (Singer Reimagined – Innovation in Watchmaking category), Paula Miszczuk (Audemars Piguet – Ladies Watch category), Leszek Pilch (Longines – Watch Priced up to 10.000PLN category) and Agnieszka Ławniczak-Czajkowska (Tissot – Public Prize category). On the off chance that you checked, you previously saw that few out of every odd prize champ was available to gather their trophy. Greubel Forsey won the prize for Complicated Watch (they will get the prize soon.)

Every year, the jury votes in favor of a Special Jury Prize, for somebody who has contributed incredibly to the watchmaking scene. Past victors incorporate for example Nicolas G. Hayek, MB&F, Francois-Paul Journe, Walter Lange and Jean-Claude Biver. Names that likely everybody knows. This year, after a furious discussion by the jury, the prize went to somebody that is most likely not too known (however that may change because of his achievements.) The laureate is Robert-Jan Broer, originator of #SpeedyTuesday.

The #SpeedyTuesday hashtag is quite possibly the most well known watch-related labels on Instagram. More than 77.000 pictures have been labeled #SpeedyTuesday, notwithstanding, the genuine accomplishment was executed as a team with Omega. They made an exceptional Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch to the SpeedyTuesday development and sold it through Instagram. 2012 pieces sold-out inside just 4 hours, and now these pieces are as of now bringing practically twofold the retail cost. A stupendous accomplishment and everything began one day by making the hashtag #SpeedyTuesday. Over the five years this tag has been near, Robert-Jan composed week by week articles (distributed each Tuesday obviously) about extraordinary Speedmaster models, and that absolutely touched off the enthusiasm for the Moonwatch with many watch sweethearts around the Earth.

The second ‘secret prize’ of the night was the Grand Prix for the most amazing aspect the best watch introduced in the previous a year. The victor of the 2017 WOTY Grand Prix, chose from every one of the 6 champs altogether classes, is the Singer Reimagined Track 1 .

Congratulations to all the champs, and unique well done to Robert-Jan Broer for his eminent accomplishment! More subtleties over in their report here .